Popplet!

When I think of Popplet, I see a giant interactive mindmap. For a while that was all I saw. Now, I see several possibilities and a very interesting tool to use in the classroom. On the Popplet website, I was hooked by their slogan, “A place for your ideas.” The reason for this is, since I am a visual learner myself, spreading out my ideas and brainstorming using tools like Popplet has always helped me retain information and organize my thoughts. When I am a teacher, I need to make sure all types of learners are benefiting from the activity and learning at the same time. This is an excellent tool to collaborate together, record thoughts, explore different ideas and all while having a little fun.

On this blog, I was presented with different basic ways to use Popplet and a introduction to the tool. According to the website, it’s as simple as this: sign up, add a name, click to add a box (or bubble) and customize it! Basically, it’s a way to make your ideas connect to each other. It can also be used to make combining sticky notes, a simple mindmap, as a presenter or a simple multimedia tool.

On this site, the author stated different advantages for the learner. This tool allows users to create a concept map from any subject they want. Whatever they choose, they can develop ideas and broaden their minds to the content and different ideas. The users must think of ways the ideas connect. The relationship between the concepts are the key to creating a successful Popplet. It allows learners to present their ideas visually. The main reason why this tool is helpful according to this author, is that it ensures that visual learners get the information. I completely agree with this statement, and I complete agree with the advantages she presents.

Lastly, this website attaches the tool to language learning, which I found very interesting since I will be a second language teacher. According to the author, collective data from different teachers has shown that Popplet is great for learning languages. The reason is that both sides of the brain are being used to create whatever the learner has to create. They are being creative, logical, technical and using their language to do so. Examples of projects they have used in language classes are basic brainstorming, storytelling, organizing information, homework, planning and studying.

Due to all the positive sides to using this tool, I would definitely consider using it with my students. It would allow them to visually present their ideas and communicate differently than with pen and paper. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

