The Use of Podcasts

Before digging into it, I was completely unaware of podcasting. Sure, I’d heard about it a couple times but I never watched one and I never subscribed to one. All I knew about it was that it was an option on iTunes, and that some people posted them occasionally. Truth is, podcasts are quite simple. After watching this video, I understood that they can be made using either a microphone, a video camera, a computer and some editing.  It can either be an audio or a visual media file, and anyone can subscribe to your podcasts and the subscription simply downloads the new file each time. 

Since technology is constantly being used, and children are becoming more and more interested in using the technologies available, as a future teacher, it is important to be completely aware with all the different ways I can do different activities and engage my students. The first thing that crossed my mind when I saw this tool was: class projects!

In high school, we were required to create a movie trailer for a book we had read. That was probably the most fun I had ever had completing a school project. To me, presenting a video in class was about 100 times less nerve racking than doing an oral presentation. So this is why I decided to further my knowledge on different and interesting ways I could implement video and audio projects in my classes.

I watched this interesting video, which states several possibilities of using podcasts in the education system. They use it for general purposes, such as school news. This is interesting because it could be such a fun project to do with students. For example, I could have students prepare a podcast of news and events coming up in the school in the target language. The school could have a podcast channel which parents and students could subscribe too. Of course, it also mentions the possibility of using podcasts to do class presentations. Students can get creative on their own time and during class by creating a presentation and use their imagination with props, costumes and scripts! Another idea is that students can conduct interviews on the podcast, as if one of them was a celebrity and the other a talk show host. I honestly think those are all interesting and awesome ways to get students excited and have a little fun while being evaluated. They are definitely projects I would consider implementing in my course plan later on.

I gained more information after watching this video as well. This information centered mostly around the advantages of using podcasts in class. First, it is a great asset to students who are visual and auditory learners. It allows students to express their creativity while having fun. It’s easy to use thanks to all the advancements and programs out there. Of course, it’s not all about the fun. There does need to be an educational side to things, but that’s why I love this idea. It’s both. Students get to work in teams, they get to use all sorts of different technological tools and software’s, and then they get to show their hard work to their peers. In this article entitled “Why every school should be podcasting” (clearly I’m not the only fan), one young student stated that after doing diaries, plays, stories and news reports using podcasts, she describes it as, “a fun thing to do!”

So why not?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

